News Flash Home
The original item was published from 11/27/2019 10:01:52 AM to 11/27/2019 10:18:14 AM.

News Flash

Rates, Utility Tax, Rental Charge

Posted on: November 27, 2019

[ARCHIVED] Board Vacancy

The Lakehaven Water and Sewer District currently has a vacancy on its Board of Commissioners. The Board is accepting applications for the vacant position. The deadline for submitting applications, which are available at the District office, or on the website (, is 4:30 p.m., December 10, 2019. The Board will review applications during a regular board meeting on December 12, 2019 and invite selected candidates to interview before the Board at a special board meeting on December 19, 2016. It is anticipated that the appointment of the new member will be made at the December 19 meeting and the appointed applicant will be sworn in prior to the end of the year.

Applicants must reside within the District’s corporate boundary and be eligible to vote. Current employees and spouses of current employees are not eligible to serve on the Board. The position will be open for election in the November 2021 General Election for the remaining four years of the term.

The District is organized as an independent special purpose water/sewer district under Chapter 57 of the Revised Code of Washington. The Board of Commissioners, comprised of five members, is the governing body of the District. The adopted resolutions and motions of the Board become the source of primary legislative and policy authority for the District’s operation.

These legislative actions include the setting of rates and charges for water, sewer and street lighting service. The Board annually elects members to serve as President, Vice President and Secretary. Board officers retain the same voting privileges as non-officers. The President appoints members to serve on committees, which serve only to gather information and retain no authority independent from the Board. The District’s General Manager and General Counsel report directly to the Board and oversee the departments staffed with approximately 114 employees.

Board members receive a per diem for each day or portion thereof devoted to the business of the District. The Board secretary receives an amount equaling the per diem for one day per month

for services as secretary. Additionally, commissioners receive a medical savings account contribution each month.

Regular board meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Special board meetings are periodically scheduled as needed. The Board conducts its business according to Board Procedures, which it reviews every two years. The Board also acts under a Code of Ethics, which it similarly reviews and approves every two years. These may be reviewed on the website. As the legislative body of a municipal corporation, the business of the Board is subject to the Open Public Meetings Act.

Questions may be directed to Lisa Alexander, Board Clerk, at 253-946-5420 or

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Rates, Utility Tax, Rental Charge