The District is located between Seattle and Tacoma in King and Pierce Counties. The District’s northern boundary is one mile south of Kent, the southern boundary overlaps slightly the Pierce County line, the western boundary follows the Puget Sound shoreline and the eastern boundary overlaps slightly the western city limits of Auburn. The District provides service within most of the City of Federal Way and small portions of the cities of Auburn, Pacific, Tacoma, Des Moines and Milton. In addition, the District serves an unincorporated area of King County approximately 18 square miles north of Federal Way and west of Auburn.

The District encompasses an area of approximately 35 square miles with a service population of approximately 112,000 people. The District is primarily residential in character with approximately 75% of the land area devoted to single family dwellings.
The District is a municipal corporation of the State of Washington. The King County Board of Commissioners officially incorporated Lakehaven Sewer District on February 27, 1956, by adoption of Resolution Number 16210. On September 17, 1985, voters authorized the consolidation of King County Water District Number 124 into Lakehaven Sewer District. In conjunction with this merger, Lakehaven Sewer District changed its name to "Federal Way Water and Sewer District."

A merger with King County Water District Number 56 was completed in November, 1987. On August 7, 1994, the District changed its name to "Lakehaven Utility District".  On October 6, 2016 the name was officially changed to "Lakehaven Water and Sewer District" to better describe the products provided to the community.
The District has, under one name or another, provided service to the Federal Way area for more than 50 years. The water system includes 400 miles of mainline, 22 wells and 12 storage tanks with an approximate storage capacity of 31 million gallons. The average daily pumping rate is about 10.6 million gallons per day (MGD).

The sewer system includes 350 miles of mainline, 27 pump stations and 2 secondary wastewater treatment plants. The Redondo Plant is designed for an average flow of 4.32 MGD, The Lakota Plant is designed for an average flow of 10 MGD.